Thank You CalTech! The Brain On AMPED 3D!


I couldn’t be more thrilled – the PhD’s at CalTech in Pasadena have agreed to begin a collaboration with me to study fMRI imaging of the brain while test subjects look at single perspective and AMPED 3D images.

I made a presentation regarding the possibility to transition from referential imagery to imagery that, in many ways, can be perceived in a real way. This is something that multi perspective imagery can facilitate, in my opinion. Now, with fMRI data, this theory can be proven- or at least some light can be shed on the subject.

The reason this is so important to me is that, for a long time, I have been convinced that there is an emotional connection to multi perspective imagery that is fundamentally different as compared to single perspective imagery. I want to understand this difference and through that understanding, advance the art in new and exciting ways.  If you think about it, it is very radical – this notion that imagery can be experienced as “real”. It presents a paradox to the mind and I believe there are parts that are very positive and parts that are negative.  For example, when we look at a drawing there is no confusion about the fact that the drawing is a drawing. We immediately interpret the drawing in a referential way. When looking at a multi perspective photograph we see the space between things and there is a moment where it isn’t clear whether or not what we are looking at is real, given that we can see into the photograph. My question is how far can this “realness” be extended? What happens at the tipping point where the decision happens regarding whether to perceive the image as real or referential? What parts of this experience are positive and what parts are negative?

Stay tuned, this journey is about to get very interesting!

3 Comments

Filed under 1

3 responses to “Thank You CalTech! The Brain On AMPED 3D!

  1. David Gadbois

    Almont, this would confirm the experiences my wife and I have had in taking stereoscopic photos in our travels. Upon viewing these stereoscopic images, the memories coming flooding into our minds in a way that simply doesn’t happen upon viewing normal 2D photographs. It is easy to recall not only the sights but also the sounds, the smells, and even our moods when we were at these places. And, yes, the emotions are far more heightened and vivid. Versus 2D imagery it is like night and day.

  2. Donna Matthews

    How are your experiments progressing? Any updates? I’ve been
    showing a sets of photos ( the same scene / subject in 2D and again in 3D) to patients as they come come to my office for eye exams. They respond
    (as do I) to the 3D images with what seems to be an involuntary exhalation and a verbal “wow”. The images they are exposed to are visually pleasing ‘pretty pictures’. I don’t classify their responses as emotional. I think they are responding to the immersive nature of the experience. And I suspect there is are accompanying, measurable visceral responses as well. Such as changes in heart rate, BP respiration rate, temp. You are the first person I’ve heard attempt to correlate the visual and physiologic connections in 3D viewing. It is fascinating!

    • I am preparing images as requested by the team at Cal Tech and hope things start in earnest in about 2 weeks.

      I believe there is both a conscious response and a subliminal response. Also, I want to learn the issues between referential perception/interpretation and “real” interpretation/perception. Most of the “wow” response is nothing more than novelty. Often times people will respond with “wow” even though they feel a subliminal dislike. The emotional responses seem to be very complicated.

Leave a Reply

