AMPED 3D vs. Lenticular?


Somebody did a google search asking the above question, so I thought I’d provide some clarity. AMPED 3D is a trademark for a process that I use to produce autostereoscopic imagery. I use lenticular lens material, but I have written my own interlacing software and modified how my printer puts the dots on the substrait (paper) that I laminate to the lenticular lens. Additionally, I had my own lenticular material cast to my specifications and I bond the lenticular lens material to a plastic backer to obtain optimal focus distance from the lens to the ink dots on the paper.

Additionally, I have extensively modified my cameras (voiding the warranty) so that they work in sync and provide extra luminance dynamic range (at the expense of error correction, which I perform with a computer separately from the camera).  While not true “HDR” I can pull about 2.25 extra F stops of dynamic range from the data.

I try to avoid pixel warping or perspective interpolation as I have found this technique to be lacking. That is why I use 14 cameras on a custom designed rail slider so that I can take up to 42 images in less than 1/2 second or 14 images within about 1/250th of a second.

I am all about being fussy and precise and still feel that the level of quality that I am able to achieve is lacking in terms of resolution. It is very likely that I won’t be satisfied until plenoptic cameras become available whereby I can extract over 100 perspectives at 1,000th of a second sync precision. This would likely require an array of 5 plenoptic cameras at today’s available technology. However, today’s plenoptic camera technology does not have enough resolution for imagery much larger than 20″ x 18″ so I can’t get very excited about it yet.

To be clear, while I am not satisfied with the imagery I have been able to create – it is far better than any other example that I have seen.

The other point I would like to make is that beyond the tech, I am fully focused on learning about the brain and how the brain processes vision. So far, many secrets have been revealed to me that I find surprising and enlightening. This insight is extremely helpful in determining what will make a compelling and emotionally engaging multi perspective image. Again, I have yet to see examples beyond my own that take advantage of what neuroscience tells us about the brain’s image processing.

So, what are those insights? What are the secrets? To be honest, I am still learning about them and do not feel that I have an abundance of answers that would make it possible for me to speak with the kind of authority that I would be comfortable with. That is requiring research, which I am doing along with others. Preliminary findings are very exciting! For example, I have proven to myself that I can craft and image which can influence the behavior of a certain demographic in much the same way a trusted friend can be an influence. Another insight is that people’s sensitivity to faked or photoshopped imagery is growing exponentially and a backlash is already in the works. The gimmicks of the past are quickly losing their effectiveness and turning towards being huge negatives.

For more information on retail signage, check out my other blog at:

http://amped3d.wordpress.com

Leave a comment

Filed under 1

Leave a Reply

